Frequently Asked Questions
Read through the FAQs below for answers regarding Louisiana driver's licensees, identification cards, and handicap hangtags.
Yes, you will need to bring proof of residence to renew an expired ID or DL. For more information on proof of residency click here.
Fees vary depending on age, expiration, and endorsements. There is a $15 late fee if expired for more than 10 days. No late fee on IDs.
Yes. You MUST bring proof of residency in order to change your address.
To duplicate, change the address, or renew a CDL will have to be done at a field location. However, we CAN downgrade the CDL at our office.
Yes. You will need to know your Social Security Number to verify previous pictures and identity.
Yes. We cannot use your previous picture. PLEASE NOTE: You will have to take off hats, sunglasses, head accessories (except for religious or medical reasons).
You will need proof of auto insurance if you own a vehicle. You will be required to pass an eye exam for DL issuance, including duplicates.
No. Initial issuance including a learner's permit must be obtained from a field location.
If you have a Louisiana DL, then we can issue a first time ID card. If you have never had Louisiana identification then you would have to go to a field location for initial issuance.
Yes, pending you have the following criteria;
- Certificate of successful completion from an approved Driver's Education School (Must be in a sealed/unopened envelope).
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card (if available to you)
- if under 18, a Certificate of Required School Attendance indicating enrollment or high school diploma
- Parent listed on birth certificate must be present with their DL or ID (If under 18). Custody documents showing domiciliary parent must be presented if parents are divorced.
No. You must go to a field location for issuance. PLEASE NOTE: If your most recent DL is out of state (even if you have had a Louisiana DL before), you will still have to go to a field location.
Yes. We can. Please click HERE for more information pertaining the REAL ID.
Yes. New issuance requires Certification of Mobility Impairment completed and signed by Physician and your Driver's License/State ID Card for proof of identity. Please click HERE for the form. PLEASE NOTE: Form must be signed within 60 days of coming to our office for issuance. Insurance not required for hang tags.
No. You must go to a field location.
Installment agreements and fines can be paid by calling the Reinstatement Call Center, please call 225-925-6146. Call center agents are available Monday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
No, we can not clear flags for no insurance or a notice of violation. This can be done by calling the OMV Reinstatement Assistance line at (225) 925-6146 and select option 3. The call center agents are available Monday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.